Rediscovering Poetry

27 Nov

I have just discovered Billy Collins the poet. A friend posted a video on facebook, and I’ve spent the last hour hunting down his work. Here are two of my favourites:

 

I so enjoy listening to poetry read by the author. A million billion times better than  reading the words on paper. I like reading poetry, but how much better to listen to the author read it him/herself exactly how they intended it to sound?

Anyone else like poetry? Please share your favourites…I’m rediscovering a lost love and would like something fresh.

7 Responses to “Rediscovering Poetry”

  1. Jen @ The Short Years November 28, 2010 at 1:12 am #

    Billy Collins is one of my favorites, and the two poems you posted are, I think, my two favorites of his! Excellent choices!

    Another poet I really love is the German poet Rainer Maria Rilke. “Neighbor God,” “Love Song,” and “Autumn” are three I especially like.

    • embejo December 1, 2010 at 9:32 pm #

      Thanks Jen…I had a feeling you’d comment :) I’ll check out the ones you’ve mentioned. I’ve also subscribed to some podcasts.

  2. Holly December 13, 2010 at 2:14 pm #

    Not to brag, but I’ve heard him speak- errr, recite his poetry.

    He is wonderful!

    • embejo December 16, 2010 at 12:24 am #

      I am jealous. I’ve found a few podcasts of him giving lectures and reciting his work. He is wonderful…he makes me smile. And often laugh.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Author; Heather Grace Stewart « Exposure Worthy - November 30, 2010

    [...] Rediscovering Poetry (embejoetc.wordpress.com) [...]

  2. The Fruit of My Passion – Love, Sex & Poetry « Linda Long Writes! - November 30, 2010

    [...] Rediscovering Poetry (embejoetc.wordpress.com) [...]

  3. Exposure Worthy – Author; Heather Grace Stewart « Magic in the Backyard - November 22, 2011

    [...] Rediscovering Poetry (embejoetc.wordpress.com) Rate this: Share this:Like this:LikeBe the first to like this post. [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48 other followers

