Getting ready for a new year

12 Jan

image

There is something about January that feels fresh. I love the feeling of starting over at the beginning of a new year.

The kids pens and pencils were in such a mess. Lots of broken pencils and felts missing lids all in the bottom of a box in a jumbly mess. So uninspiring. It’s not surprising no one wanted to draw.

So today I made these  new pencil tins out of leftover scrapbooking papers my cousin gave me and some recycled food cans.

A fresh new pile of secondhand books is also new yearish. And considering my current reading rate this lot will probably keep me going for at least 6 months.

image

I am already reading The Hobbit, and a friend and fellow bibliophile has lent me her virgin copy of The Messenger by Markus Zusak, (which just proves how much she loves me), so I have more than enough reading material for a while.

4 Responses to “Getting ready for a new year”

  1. Mum January 13, 2013 at 12:39 am #

    Hi Erin, I love your pencil tins. I wouldn’t like to guess how many I have made over the years. Some for us and some to give away. At the moment I am using the tins from Ally Salmon. They are gold under the rapper and all I have to do is wash them. Not very pretty for kids though.
    Love Mum

    • embejo January 13, 2013 at 8:38 am #

      So easy, cost nothing, and look so fresh. And when they start to look tired you can make more.

  2. cuehaven January 13, 2013 at 8:02 am #

    Hi Erin – Not sure if you remember, but at CUE Haven I recycle big sturdy plastic containers with lids by wrapping them in very pretty old gift wrap and use them to store various tea bags & other dry stuff. Helps the young volunteers appreciate that in this throw away society recycling can be fun and attractive.

    I like your eclectic book list. You may want to include Tom’s novel, Identities, that was published in the US in October 2012. It is available through Amazon or Book depository and also as an e-book on Kindle, i-pad, Kobo and other e-readers. Just search on TEStazyk + Identities. It is also available in the libraries in NZ, maybe your could get your local library to get a copy for you. All the proceeds from the sale of the book are going to the CUE Haven project.

    I think you and Doug will like the book. It follows the career of an executive who begins to challenge the current trend among many corporations of focusing solely on growth and short term results at the expense of the wider community. You can read the Kirkus review, which also gives a good synopsis of the plot, at: http://www.kirkusreviews.com/book-reviews/te-stazyk/identities/#review.

    cheers,
    Mahrukh

    • embejo January 13, 2013 at 8:34 am #

      Tom wrote a book? That’s fantastic! I will definitely check it out. Thank you

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

