Introducing 10 tonne Betty

26 Jan

image

Yes we bought a bus. She is an old school bus converted to a motorhome and is the newest member of our family.

image

image

We are looking forward to lots of adventures. In fact they have already begun as Doug had to drive her home all the way from NSW in a record breaking heatwave without air conditioning.  About 1700kms of hard work and discomfort for both of them (and Ryan who went along for the trip), but I think they became well acquainted during that and are possibly even slowly forming a firm friendship. I love her already.

image

The children likewise are enjoying getting to know her.

image

image

Even Sam seems to like her even though they had a little disagreement on the first day. He fell out, the step being a little higher that he thought and his two footed jump down to the gutter went awry.

image

I can’t wait to hit the road.

image

8 Responses to “Introducing 10 tonne Betty”

  1. sb January 26, 2013 at 7:26 pm #

    Oh wow! SO exciting!

  2. jodes January 27, 2013 at 5:53 am #

    I love it ez, it was nice to see the shot of you with all 5 kids. It’s the perfect set up for you guys. Poor little Sam, what’s with Sams and mobile home steps, remember our Sams leg.

  3. cuehaven January 27, 2013 at 6:21 am #

    That is so cool!!! Hope you have lots of great fun and adventures in Betty!

    A fun project could be figuring out what colour(s) to paint her.

    All the best to you guys in 2013.

    Tom & Mahrukh

  4. tina January 28, 2013 at 6:47 am #

    I love love love your Betty! and she seems to fit into your family so well – very cool indeed – happy adventures my friend = )

  5. AliT January 31, 2013 at 12:19 pm #

    Looks great Ez!

  6. Bill Hutchison February 6, 2013 at 10:17 pm #

    Wow, that looks like something that I might even be able to drag my wife “camping” in! Very nice …

  7. GeeEm February 19, 2013 at 8:07 am #

    That is so darned cool!!! I want one, I want one! :D I can’t wait to hear about your adventures in her! :D

    • embejo February 21, 2013 at 9:47 pm #

      Thanks :) I can’t wait to share them. A campervan would be heaps easier…but we figured 7 of us would live more comfortably in a bus. I wonder if I will get the courage to get my MR license and drive it!! EEeeeek!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48 other followers

