A bit of word slinging

20 Mar

So apparently it’s been a while. It’s time to bang out some words.

I read True Stories by Helen Garner recently and jotted down this quote:

“Somebody somewhere says, though, that “the urge to preserve is the basis of all art”. Unaware of this thought you keep a diary. You keep it not only because it gratifies your urge to sling words around with impunity, but because without it you will lose your life: it’s detail will leak away into the sand and be gone forever.”

I like it.

Quite a bit has happened.

We moved house. We’re still renting for now. The new house is in a lovely leafy area with a gazillion trees. I love it. We have a bit of a view and heaps of birds including kookaburras which I love. Apparently there are koalas living in the gully behind us but we’ve yet to see them. So we’re still in the suburbs but it feels a little more spacious up here.

The house is bigger too… much more space for our big family to spread out.

The baby of the family is already 1. He’s got teeth and blows kisses and loves to play with the other kids. He’s walking and exploring and unpacking bookshelves. All the clichés are true. Too fast. Fleeting. Etc.

I turned 37. In a moment of grumpiness feeling like I was heading ever closer to 40 I had to stop and shut myself up with the memory that my mother didn’t even make it to 37. So it was kind of a milestone in my life to remind me not to take any day for for granted and to really  live.

I’m nursing again. I have two casual jobs picking up bits of work here and there. I’m enjoying working again. My colleagues think I’m living the sweet life working only one or two days  a week, until I explain that I have five children and come to work for a break.

I still get regular comments about the size of our family. Sometimes it bothers me but mostly not. My favourite one lately: “Five children!? What are you…part rabbit?!”
This is the most original comment I’ve received by far and it came from a male nursing colleague who greets me with a cheeky comment every day.

I have been thining about New Zealand a lot lately. I met a Maori dude at work and we chatted as we transported a patient and his accent was just lovely. I miss New Zealand. All the people, and all the beautiful places. I know it will always be special to me. I’m day dreaming about a visit.

We had such a hot summer…January was just ridiuclous. But now we’re enjoying perfect Autumn days. Adelaide does Autumn really well. Warm days, clear big blue skies, gentle breezes. Perfect.

Life is good. We are trying to make the most of these days with our children, and getting out and making memories with them. I am so grateful for wide open spaces for our kids to roam around.

image

image

image

image

One Response to “A bit of word slinging”

  1. 4maze May 9, 2014 at 4:48 pm #

    So nice to hear from you – loved reading your post – been so busy I haven’t got to catch up on everyone’s blogs. I had a dream about New Zealand a couple of days ago (weird after being here for 5 years) and I woke up feeling quite homesick. Stranger even more so since I’ve never dreamed about South Africa that way.Glad you are loving your new home.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48 other followers

