Why I don’t co-sleep

My little boy (9 weeks) slept through the night for the first time last night. From 10:30pm to 7:30am! Before I even looked at the clock, I knew it was a big sleep because of my comparably big boobies!

This would all be wonderful of course, if my big boy (2 and 1/2) hadn’t had us up at least 7 times! He was in and out of his bed, in and out of ours, talking about Nemo, crying for milk, and being generally difficult and un-sleepy, despite being very very tired. He ended up falling asleep next to me, and I slumbered the rest of the night rather squashed between the two pillows, and B lay spread out in a warm ‘next-to-my-mummy’ bliss. He slept happily there next to me, from time to time flinging an arm into my face, or tugging at the duvet.

I on the other hand slept very little. I’m a side sleeper, but I don’t like anything or any one near my face contaminating my air. B obviously likes having things near his face because he kept coming closer to me until I was wedged between the two pillows – so I just dozed on my back.

I’d take my hat off if I wore one, to the co-sleepers out there. I do enjoy the cuddly happy sleepy kids near me, and I’m sure they love it too, being in the big bed, But I JUST CAN’T SLEEP! Do they all take up most of the queen size bed despite their minimal size??? Or do some children actually share the pillow and the blankets? It’s not exactly co-SLEEPING is it!? It’s more like child-sleeping-blissfully-while-Mum-lies-there-rigid-and-cold-and-doesn’t-get-up -to-fix-the-problem-because-she’s-too-scared-to-wake-the-aforementioned -blissfully-sleeping-child.

And now I’m sleep deprived. Again.

3 thoughts on “Why I don’t co-sleep

  1. I am so right there with you. I can never sleep with a kid in my bed either, not a bit. I don’t understand how co-sleepers do it.

    Thanks for the comment over on my page, as well!

  2. My kids cosleep, and I co-lie-next-to-them. I don’t get much sleep, for precisely the reasons you wrote. But I prefer that to getting up out of bed all night long. Call me a lazy mama, ‘cos it’s true. In any case, it’s my personal opinion that mothers don’t get much sleep no matter what their sleeping arrangements are. Best to figure out what works best for your family and run with it! :)

    cheers,
    ~mm

Leave a Reply

