I Kneaded: Think Time

D has always wanted to bake bread and last night we tried some Shabbat Challah. It was fun baking together after the kids had gone to bed. Never mind that it was somewhat unsuccessful…It looks good. Was delicious hot with butter, but didn’t rise properly because we used the wrong yeast. D had bought some breadmakers yeast, and it’s designed for use with breadmaking machines, and contains other raising agents. That messed it up for us, so the bread is heavy and dense. (Probably strong enough to sit on!) But check it out! It looks fantastic.

Our friend J gave us some sour dough starter today too, so that will be the next thing to try.

As I was kneading the dough, I was thinking of how not so long ago, it would have been part of the daily routine to bake bread and hand wash clothes. I commented to D that life was very different then, and while the work was physically harder, that it seemed to me unlikely that you’d be very stressed out kneading bread. It was quite relaxing actually. And it’s virtually impossible to multi-task while kneading bread. Which leads me to think that one reason I’m often feeling overwhelmed and stressed is because I’m always doing more than one thing at a time. For goodness sake, even when I exercise, I turn on the TV, so that I can exercise and be entertained at the same time! My mind is always rushing to the next task and feeling frustrated that the current task is preventing me from getting started on the next one. Why do I often feel so hurried?

Now that the washing machine cleans our clothes, and the dishwasher washes the dishes, we have the time to cram more activity into our day. But I wonder how much time we allow ourselves to just think. To let our mind relax and let our thoughts just meander from one think to the next. Time to day dream and wonder about things. Surely that is good for the soul.

Leave a Reply

