Storytime

Everything I have read regarding home schooling young children always emphasises reading aloud to them. A lot. Mindful of this we’ve been making regular trips to the library and coming home with a pile of picture books and a few non-fiction. E has enjoyed books about birds, plants, human body – senses, and most recently Common and Garden Birds of New Zealand. I have found it interesting to note her interest in biology.

However, I’ve been finding she’s less interested in the shorter picture books, and rather chooses longer stories from her bookshelf, which have been read so many times and getting a bit boring for me, and aren’t really very stretching for her either.

So, on a whim the other day I grabbed C S Lewis’ The Chronicles of Narnia off my bookshelf while the kids were having lunch and started to read. Her attention was captured from the opening line of the first book The Magician’s Nephew: “This is a story about something that happened a long time ago when your grandfather was a boy.” Since then we have read everyday and while I think some of the language is difficult for her to understand we’ve been making steady progress. I think we are up to chapter 9. Most days when I tell her we have to stop, she says “Oh please….a bit more, I want to know what happens next.” She’s so enjoying the adventure and the rich fantasy. I’m also enjoying reading it. I’m so excited that she’s growing up and I look forward to other books we can enjoy together.

I think I had underestimated how much she enjoys being read to, as well as her understanding. I’m so glad I took the plunge to attempt these books.


Leave a Reply

