Forrest Gump

Forrest Gump – Winston Groom

I read this easy to read book quite quickly while on holiday. It was a bit disappointing to be honest. You know when you see a movie which is based on a novel you have read and you think to yourself “The book’s better” ? Well, in this case the movie is most definitely better.

Some of the book reads like a kids joke book, the adventures Forrest had were quite ridiculous and I was unconvinced and bored. For example, the failed space mission in which a male orangutan named Sue caused the shuttle to crash and Forrest, Sue and Major Fitch landed in New Guinea right in the middle of a cannibalistic tribe. They were saved from being eaten by among other things, Forrest’s chess genius.

Disappointed. I wonder if I had read this book before seeing the movie whether I’d have a different opinion. As I read I could hear Tom Hanks’ outstanding performance in my head…

One thought on “Forrest Gump

  1. I always wondered how this book was…thanks for saving me the trouble of reading it and being mad afterwards.

    You know, it’s disconcerting when a book’s cover is a snapshot from the movie made based on the book… as if the story is riding on the wings of its film sibling. Always makes me a bit suspicious.

    Congrats on finishing Wuthering Heights, by the way. I need to read it again. It was about 15 years ago, and I do remember loving the story but the details are all gone, gone, gone (like so much else in my brain…!) You are, as always, an inspiration. ;)

Leave a Reply

