Schindler’s List

If you’re here for the blog party, the Party’s happening here.

_____________________________________________________________

Schindler’s List – Thomas Keneally

I know, I know, another book review. But, I am ploughing through these books and loving it!

I read this simply because I’d seen the movie and was impressed by the story and wanted to find out more. The book while written as a novel, was constructed from recollections and records of real events…only private conversations were reconstructed by the author. In saying this though, it was presented in a factual and largely chronological way, and not really dramatised. The story was dramatic in itself, but there wasn’t anything to make you sympathise particularly with Oskar Schindler, the hero of this tale. So I found it a little more challenging to read than I’d expected. Also there were a lot of German military and SS rank names written in German throughout the book which were a virtual mouthful, and along with Polish place names and so on it took a bit of concentration.

The story itself though….amazing. I don’t think I will ever understand how these events really happened, and how such beliefs (towards the Jews) were ever able to take hold, and at a time not so very long ago.

4 thoughts on “Schindler’s List

  1. I remember seeing the display at the Auckland museum years ago
    I think this is a book that is going to have to go on my TBR (to be read) list
    thanks my friend

    yes their courage was amazing
    let us never forget what these people had to go through

Leave a Reply

