The Thirteenth Tale

The Thirteenth Tale – Diane Setterfield

Wow. Gripping. Read late into the night, fell asleep on the couch and had strange spooky but not scary dreams. This book was not what I expected and had I read some reviews which refer to it as a ‘gothic ghost story’ I would probably not have read it.

The story set in Yorkshire, was a dark tale of family dysfunction, with mystery and secrets. I never could have guessed the outcome of the story which centered around neglected twins in an apparently haunted house.

I was fascinated and gripped and really couldn’t put it down. It reminded me of Wuthering Heights, and is a book lovers book really with lots of literary references.

The ending was neat and complete which I like, and after finishing it, I sat for about half an hour thinking over and over the story and wanting to read it again with the knowledge of the mystery giving new eyes.

Disclaimer: There is an incestuous relationship in this story, but apart from one specific reference to it, there are no details. There is one page which if it were TV I would rate for Mature audiences. It was shocking but not drawn out or gratuitous.

2 thoughts on “The Thirteenth Tale

Leave a Reply

