A little Project I’ve been working on

“Don’t ask what the world needs. Ask what makes you come alive, and go do it. Because what the world needs is people who have come alive.”

~Howard Thurman

I’ve been rather busy lately… hence the lack of posts here. But I’m very excited and something small that I started has just become a little bigger and it’s time to share it with you.

As you may know, I’ve been increasingly concerned about the current situation in Zimbabwe. The recent elections and related events drew my attention back to this troubled nation and I just couldn’t get it out of my mind. I found it hard to believe the stories I was reading and felt helpless to act being so far away and so relatively powerless in these big world problems. However all through this year, the above quote has been coming back to me again and again and I firmly believe that when something grabs you and makes you come alive then it’s your baby. This issue grabbed me. I was sick of reading bad news and wanted to Do Something.

To get to the point….I eventually made contact with a Dr working in a rural hospital about 85km north of the capital. The hospital has a catchment of over 270,000, 25,000 of whom have HIV/AIDS.They are in need of many basic goods and medical supplies for running the hospital.

The situation in Zimbabwe is dire. It has 80% unemployment, 1.3million living with HIV/AIDS, there are food shortages, and the life expectancy has dropped from 60 in 1994 to just 34 now and the lowest in the world. Currently there has been an increase of political violence with 1500 reported incidents since March 29th when the elections were held. More than 30 people have been killed in targetted political attacks.

I know I can’t solve Zimbabwe’s problems. But I think I can make a difference in a few or in many peoples’ lives through the hospital which is working hard to help people in their community. So I made a plan. I have started a project to collected donated medical supplies and general goods and raise money to ship it to Zimbabwe.

I have started approaching potential donors, and yesterday I was blown away to hear from one company who has donated 4 pallets of medical supplies. We collect it on Thursday and so begins it’s journey from a warehouse in Auckland to a hospital in Zimbabwe. We have a long way to go. It will be lots of work, and we will need to raise lots of money to pay for shipping. I would be grateful of any support you can offer.

Here is the link to the website for the project which is called Make A Plan. It details more about the project including how you can help, and will have updates on the projects progress as it goes along.

Leave a Reply

