The Catcher In the Rye – J D Sallinger

The Catcher in the Rye – J D Sallinger

Catcher in the Rye

I have wanted to read this book for a long time and finally did after finding an ex-library copy for sale at our library. They were supposed to be $1 each, but the kind librarian gave me two novels for 50c. Not each….50c for both! Ha, that’s a bargain if there ever was one. (The other book was The Adventures of Tom Sawyer – Mark Twain)

I really enjoyed this book, although was nervous throughout that our character was going to do something really nasty. I thought it was a brilliant look inside someones mind and it seemed so very real to me. You know the term when watching a play or movie, that the audience has to ‘suspend their disbelief’ and how that is really hard when there is bad acting? Well, sometimes in books I find myself thinking about the author and what they are trying to tell me instead of the characters speaking for themselves. Well, no such trouble in this book. The character was so convincing that I barely even though of it as a work of fiction but a record of someones actual thoughts. Clever writing. Brilliant.

(Nothing much happens though, and the story only spans a few days, so if you’re into action, this might not be the book for you.)

2 thoughts on “The Catcher In the Rye – J D Sallinger

  1. I know that book is supposed to be a classic but I never liked it that much. I think because I couldn’t relate to Holden Caulfield at all. You’re right in that it does an incredible job getting inside his mind–I just didn’t like him as a person very much so I couldn’t like the book that much either.

  2. Jen…I never meant to never respond to this comment!
    I didn’t really like Holden Caulfield either, but the book kept me reading, and was clever work. It’s nice for me to say that I’ve read it though! Ha ha

Leave a Reply

