In which I consider that I’d like to be a librarian

Today our church hosted a holiday program for children under 7. It was for kids and their mums/dads to come and have some fun. We had arts and crafts, music and dance, a jumping castle, dress ups, space to ride bikes, and storytime. I was asked to read stories to the kids and I loved it! I enjoyed the whole thing….from selecting the books, to reading them, and making funny character voices.

It was great to see the kids listening so intently to the stories, and it occurred to me in the middle of it all that it’d be kinda fun to be a kids librarian. Books are cool, and I love to see kids enjoying books. Once a child has a love of reading, they can learn anything. Anything? Yep, anything.

So one day when I’m not home schooling, mothering three little ones, considering going back to work part time, dreaming of medical missions, trying to decorate my home on a shoe string, sending stuff to Africa or planning a secret garden maybe then I could be a librarian in my spare time.

“To learn to read is to light a fire; every syllable that is spelled out is a spark.” Victor Hugo

11 thoughts on “In which I consider that I’d like to be a librarian

  1. I have always thought being a librarian would be awesome. Being surrounded by books and fellow lovers of them all day long–how much better could it get. I have a friend who is a librarian in Seattle and she says the main downside is when old homeless men come in the library and try to ask her out…other than that, it’s good, she says.

    Also, can I just say that your hair is gorgeous? I have always wanted long wavy hair, but it’s just not in the cards for me.

  2. Monica….yes, I’d love the reading part, but not so sure I’d be any good at reviewing them. Sure, I could talk about it, but especially if I don’t like the book, all I’d want to say is “didn’t like it” …lol

    Thanks MM….the holiday program was for two days, so we covered lots of books. Here’s a few of my favourites:
    Possum Magic – Mem Fox
    Koala Lou – Mem Fox
    Who Sank the Boat – Pamela Allen
    Potato People – Pamela Allen
    Mrs Wishy Washy’s Farm – Joy Cowley
    The Cockerel, the Mouse and the Little Red Hen – Jess Stockham
    One, Two, Three O’Leary – Malachy Doyle
    Cricket’s Storm – Joy Cowley
    Giraffe’s Cant’ Dance – Giles Andreae

    Jen….yes, a distinct downside for sure.

    my3boysandi…well, they were kind to me…no one threw things at me at any rate, so it wasn’t too bad.

  3. Hey Tamara, always nice to see you here….yep…time, time! But I do get to play story time at home anytime. My kids Love stories, so if ever I say “Anyone want a story?” I get a chorus of “YES! ME ME ME !!!”

Leave a Reply

