Stickability and Lemon Pudding. Yes, totally logical.

What happened to Monday Monday? I don’t know…I was sick and here we are and already it’s Tuesday Tuesday.

I don’t know why I do this to myself all the time. That is, give myself extra pressures in things that don’t really matter. Like posting every day for a month for example! It’s day 9, I’m already a day behind, and I still have 21 days left in the month and diddly-squat to say. Silly me. But I won’t give up. I’m like that.

(It’s my mother’s voice in my head. The exact words elude me, but something like….’if you start something you finish it’. I used to agree. I used to think it was the right thing to do.. that if you start something or make a commitment to something you should always follow through. So, if you start a ballet class, and decide you hate it, you should at least stick it out until the end of the term. If you start a book, you should finish it, even if you don’t like it… just for the sake of perseverance, ‘stickability‘ as my Mum says. And you know what….it’s true sometimes. I think it’s important to have perseverance even when things get hard. Life is hard and it’s good to have the strength of character to hang in there sometimes even if you want to bail. But I’m starting to learn that also there is a time for recognising a bad decision and getting the heck out of there. It is not such a bad thing to admit you’ve made a mistake.)

Anyway, it’s all quiet in our house this afternoon…my older two are off playing at a friends house, and the little one is asleep. D is home (took the day off to look after me because I was sick yesterday, but now I’m better. Whoops. But then his car wouldn’t start this morning, so it was rather convenient that he’s off so he’s out there now tinkering with it) Often when our house is quiet and I have a little more time on my hands, I get a little more inspired about dinner. Most of the time I consider myself a reluctant cook, but tonight I feel like making a nice little pudding for desert. It’s easy and delicious and reminds me of a childhood favourite which we called Lemon Swiss Delicious.

Citrus Sponge Pudding

1 cup caster sugar
1/2 cup SR flour
3 tbsp desiccated coconut
1 tbsp finely grated lemon rind
1 tbsp finely grated orange rind
2 tbsp lemon juice
2 tbsp orange juice
2 eggs, separated
125g butter, melted and cooled
1 cup milk.

1) Combine sugar, flour, coconut, lemon rind, orange rind in a bowl. Beat in lemon juice, orange juice,  egg yolks, butter and milk.

2) Beat egg whites until stiff peaks form and fold into citrus mixture. Pour mixture into  a greased 4 cup capacity oven proof dish. Place in a baking dish , with enough hot water to come halfway up sides of the pudding dish and bake at 180 C for 45 minutes or until cooked. (Will be slightly browned on top.)

3 thoughts on “Stickability and Lemon Pudding. Yes, totally logical.

  1. This sounds really yummy. Have you ever made it without the coconut? (My husband is not a fan of coconut). And, for the benefit of any other American readers who might be curious: I looked up caster sugar, and in the US it’s called “superfine sugar.”

  2. Hey Jen, yes, I usually make it without coconut too….just prefer the smoother texture, and also don’t have any! :-) Thanks for the caster sugar thingy….I’ve made it with normal sugar too if I didn’t have caster and it turns out fine. Funny how we have different names for basic ingredients hey? By the way….how much is in a ‘stick of butter?’

    Katie..me too. Yesterday I enjoyed hot lemon and honey drinks (which I always serve in a glass not a mug because that’s how my Dad used to make it!) which is so delicious and tangy and so soothing when you’re sick.

Leave a Reply

