Booky Stuff

Firstly, I’ve still been reading quite a bit, and working my way through my book lists for the year. I am too lazy to write a review of each, and not really all that good at book reviews anyway, but I do want to keep a record of what I’ve read, so I’m just going to list them here and maybe make a comment or two.

Alice in Wonderland – Lewis Carrol.

Didn’t love it, but E5 did. Maybe I found the nonsense slightly frustrating at times. Anyway… it still remains a must read at least once in childhood and maybe even as an adult, but I’m happy to borrow it, and for me it’s not a must own.

Morgan’s Run – Colleen McCullough

Loved this book. It’s the story of a man Richard Morgan who is falsely accused of a crime in and found himself transported to Botany Bay (Australia’s first penal colony) in 1788 on the First Fleet. It is a great tale which spans the years from 1775 until 1793 and depicts life for a convict in Botany Bay and later when  he is transported to Norfolk Island. I loved learning about this period of time. Richard Morgan’s name is in fact listed on the historical records as being a convict on the first fleet, and did live on Norfolk Island. I was fascinated by this because there was also a convict on the First Fleet whose surname is my maiden name. I’m not descended from him because it seems he died a couple of years after arriving and before becoming a free man. There are no records of offspring.

The Sea – John Banville

Hmmm…I liked this book, but didn’t really leave a lasting impression. Well written etc, but didn’t do anything for me.(Is that bad? It’s a prize winner and all.)

Captain Corelli’s Mandolin – Louis De Bernieres

I was so looking forward to reading this book, but I’m sorry to say I didn’t finish it. Just didn’t really get into it. I know I’ll revisit it someday though. I’ve read great reviews though! he he. Oh, and I own it, so I know I’ll try again someday.

The Willoughbys – Lois Lowry

Grabbed this off the shelf in the children’s section at the library the other day. I’d heard it was good. I read it myself to see if it’d be a good one for the kids. Almost all the way through I had my doubts that I’d read it to them, but when I got to the last few pages, I decided it’s probably a goer. It’s a book about four children who decide that since they have such ghastly parents, they should really be orphans. It’s full of great words like nefarious and irascible and odious, but has a glossary at the back for the youngsters. It’s a booky book in that it references other great old fashioned stories like Mary Poppins and The Secret Garden and Heidi. It’s was a bit Roald Dahl-ish in it’s slightly dark story, and was also very funny, and I loved the perfect ending.

I’m currently reading The Adventures of Tom Sawyer by Mark Twain, and loving it. Also reading Absolute Power by Ian Wishart… not sure what I think of this one yet.

And speaking of books, I paid more fines at the library the other day…my husband jokes that they should roll out a red carpet for me when I come since I probably nearly own the place by now. I should get VIP service he reckons…. So, I so needed this! This is ELF! It’s a personal email reminder service that can track multiple library cards and send you customised emails when your books are nearly due or over due. (I still don’t know why the library can’t do this itself. In my case they only send an email when you already have a lot of fines owing and they’re getting to the point of charging you for the books.) But anyway….I hope it works for me!

8 thoughts on “Booky Stuff

  1. I used to own Morgan’s Run…wasn’t a bad read at all and I can still remember most of the storyline a couple of years later.

    Captain Corelli’s Mandolin…felt the same way but did perserve, one of those books you have to work really hard to get past the writing style. Anyway I think in this case the movie is better, it does have scrummy Nicholas Cage in it after all!

    Here the kids cards dont get fines for overdues (unless they are really bad ) so I’ve found the trick is to self issue using one of the kids cards. Thats naughty eh!

  2. I have saved SO much money since signing up to ELF at my local library but strangely the big nearby city library that I belong to doesn’t have it.

  3. You will learn much more from reading “Tom Sawyer” by Twain, than “Absolute Power’ by Wishart.

    Tom Sawyer is a classic that has thrilled generations. Easy to read. The sequel “Huckleberry Finn” is probably more legendary still.

    Absolute Power is a mischievous and spiteful work, that is very hard to read.

    Twain was an insightful commentator on his life and times. Wishart does not get it (to use the language of McCain / Obama).

    If you are interested in political intrigue in New Zealand, do read “The Hollow Men”. This effort contributed to the downfall of Don Brash of National in a memorable 2-week period last year. A good thing he was not Prime Minister at the time.

    Evan

  4. Read Twain, not Wishart.

    The former was an insightful commentator, and his work remains as fresh today as ever.

    On the other hand, Wishart churns out stuff that would only vaguely interest you for 10 minutes. His works are not classics, but instant obscelescence.

    The more enduring political piece will the Nicky Hager’s “The Hollow Men”. Read that.

  5. Hey Peter, thanks for stopping by. I agree that Twain is the better writer by far. Don’t think the two should even be mentioned in the same sentence he he …..I just mentioned them together because that’s what I’m currently reading.

    I haven’t read ‘The Hollow Men’ so can’t comment on that, but as for the content of Ian Wishart’s book, doesn’t opinion on it really come down to which side of the fence you are sitting on? I have found it hard to find a really impartial opinion on either of these books.

  6. Some libraries can send e-mail reminders – mine does. :) Probably depends on the software yours uses and how technologically-savvy your system is in general. I’ve noticed that some systems use e-mail/online stuff to an almost silly degree and some are still in the dark ages.

    Glad you enjoyed the Willoughbys – I haven’t read it yet but thought it sounded like a good pick for our kids’ book club. So I’m glad to hear it is! :) I had a feeling it would be Roald Dahl-esque.

Leave a Reply

