Jane Eyre – Charlotte Bronte

Jane Eyre – Charlotte Bronte

I have owned this book for about a year but only just got around to actually reading it. I’m so glad I did. I wanted to read it simply because it’s a classic, but was expecting it to be a little dull or slow, but found it kept me interested and the plot kept moving. I ended up quite liking the character of Jane and even though prehaps she is portrayed as being rather plain or dull, I think she was a lively, intelligent and stong woman, and when considering the time the book was published, this quality was probably even more impacting.

The story begins when she is living under the care of an Aunt (she is an orphan) and follows her very difficult childhood and adult life, until she eventually overcomes her troubles, and finds her way. It has a bit of mystery, romance and a couple of unexpected twists. It explores the dilemmas we all face choosing between what we want and what is right.

2 thoughts on “Jane Eyre – Charlotte Bronte

  1. One of my all-time favorites! I think Jane is such a great character–she has such strength of character. I love the interaction between her and Rochester.

Leave a Reply

