The End of a Decade

Ten years gone. And yes it went fast. It is quite easy for me to mark the 00’s because the begining of 2000 ushered in the biggest change in my life to that point. And tomorrow begins the 10’s. I wonder what the next ten years will hold. Quite an exciting thought really….especially if it gets better from here on in. haha

So, what’s happened in the last ten years?

Well on this day 10 years ago I was celebrating New Years at a party with friends in Adelaide, Australia. D and I were sharing a brief holiday together before being separated (again!) until our wedding in February 2000. The perils of a long distance relationship. Well after the midnight cheers of “Happy New Year!” we stayed up chatting and watching movies until dawn. It was the first time we both watched The Castle. Still a favourite.

And this year I’m up alone. D is in bed with a fever of 38 degrees, and kids are asleep. I’ll probably watch a dvd. Alone. Hmmm quite a different scenario ten years later now that I’m married with kiddies and heavily pregnant and it’s just too hard to party right now. And I couldn’t even manage to get a copy of The Castle.

Since that night so much has happened. I’m not going to recount ten years of stories, but here are some of the defining moments of the last decade:

  • Leaving home
  • Getting married
  • Leaving Australia
  • Settling in New Zealand
  • Not being near family when my mum and cousin battled cancer
  • Losing a Nanna and a Grandma
  • Having three children (and almost the fourth)
  • Travelling to: Malaysia, India and South Africa
  • Changed and dropped and then resurrected a Nursing career (and now it’s on hold again! ahah)
  • A HECK of a lot of growing up which has been so good for me. I think I might almost be a grown up now.

And do you know what? I can’t think of anything else noteworthy. Flip. Is that it? Ten years of living and there’s hardly anything to show for it. Well….three amazing kids and a fourth nearly ready to make his appearance. I guess parenting has characterised the past decade for me. And it’s a heck of a lot of work with a lot of  delayed gratification. The days have sometimes seemed very mundane. The tasks menial. The repetition of housework as always soul destroying. Raising children isn’t always exciting. Is often frustrating and always worth it.  I wouldn’t change it. I wouldn’t go back ten years and choose a different path.

Here’s to the next ten years. I still have heaps of dreams. I wonder how many will be fulfilled in the 2010’s?

Leave a Reply

