Four of them

Sometimes I stop and realise that I have FOUR children now. I am so grateful. They are amazing and I feel so lucky to have them. Each of them are so unique and precious. It’s incredibly hard work being their mother, but such a privilege. I’m so glad I get to be with them every day and see all their moments; their joy and fun and mess and struggles and mischief and noise and laughter! And they are noisy. Very noisy. So noisy that I felt like a hypocrite when Animal Control came around to question us about our neighbour’s barking dogs. I said “Yes, the dogs are a problem, but my children are also noisy and you can’t put a special collar on children.” But I’m starting to think the noise is ok. One day our home is going to be very quiet when they’ve all grown up and moved away, so I’d might as well enjoy it now.

There are so many things I love about this photo. They are all sitting on the couch watching a movie together, and munching nutri-grain. I love how they are sitting close, and Emma is holding Samuel. He’s so happy with her. And he has his enormous yellow dummy. Ryan is eating with a spoon. He calls it his ‘green spoon‘ even though it’s not green, and everyone in the family understands what he means and indulges him. Ben has his funny smile for the camera face on. Love these kids so much. I love that when I look at this photo I know them so well and in ways I can’t even put into words. I just look at their faces and I know them.

2 thoughts on “Four of them

  1. Don’t you love that you can capture these moments thanks to digital technology. It is a gorgeous photo of them all – and I love seeing Emma without teeth – she looks so different to when I last saw her. You are a blessed Mum Erin!!

Leave a Reply

