An open letter to Tim from Contact Energy

Dear Tim,

You called at my house today. You were pleasant and polite and asked which electricity supplier we use. Apart from the fact it is none of your business, I was not in the frame of mind to talk about electricity providers. I told you anyway, and you started to tell me that your company is offering cheaper prices. Then you asked what my current charges were.

This is when I said “no thank you, I don’t really to talk about it now, maybe you could send me the info….” and you cut me off to ask if you could just have a look at my current bill.

This is when I said, louder this time “no thanks, I really don’t want to talk about it”. Finally you got the message.

As you walked away you looked disappointed, hurt and rejected. Please don’t be offended. It was not personal. I’m sure you are a nice person. I just didn’t want to discuss electricity. I had other things on my mind. When you knocked on my door, I had just found a moment of relative quiet in my busy day. My three older children were having a snack in front of the TV, the baby just gone to bed. I was composing an email response to a friend who is facing a family crisis. Your timing was unfortunate, and while your manners were pleasant, it is presumptuous to arrive at my home unannounced and expect me to be available to make decisions on the spot. I know you are just doing your job, but please remember that this is my home. I wonder how you would feel if I knocked on your door this afternoon, after you get home from a long day door knocking, and pressure you to discuss your financial and domestic details with me?

Anyway, please bear that in mind.

The householder.

5 thoughts on “An open letter to Tim from Contact Energy

  1. thanks for stopping by my blog! would love to have you as a follower – i am really enjoying your blog too, i loved the post on things you want your kids to know – going to read more of your blog now! have a glorious evening SITS-ta :)

  2. Hee hee – had to chuckle when I read this – reminded me of when I got caught by someone who misrepresented what they were selling and after about 2 hours left me fuming and they were rather cross I hadn’t bought their product – if they had been honest I wouldn’t have wasted their time or mine – at least you’re honest!!

Leave a Reply

