A September Birthday

charity : water – September 2010

Yep. I’m at  it again. I just can’t help but be passionate about these things. The statistics never cease to amaze and shock me. But I’m so excited that everyone can make a difference, large or small, to help someone else’s life be just a little better. And who wouldn’t want to do that?

It’s my birthday in September, and this year I’m skipping my birthday and instead of celebrating it with stuff like gifts and cards, I’m going to spend the next few weeks raising money to help give more people access to clean drinking water through an organisation called charity : water. So far they have funded 2906 projects in 17 countries, providing clean water to 1.2 million people.

I’m running a campaign from now until the 30th September.  My goal is to raise US$250 towards drilling a well in Central Africa for the Bakaya people mentioned in the above video. Over the next few weeks, I’ll post updates on my progress as well as more about the water crisis and charity : water.

I would love it if you could help me reach that target, and even better, to exceed it. In terms of human lives, a little money goes a long way:

  • $20 means one person can get clean water for 20 years.
  • $250 means two families of six can get clean water.
  • $5000 means clean water for a community of 250

Visit my Un-Birthday Campaign page to see my progress and to donate. You can also help spread the word by making use of the buttons below for Facebook, Twitter etc.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

6 thoughts on “A September Birthday

Leave a Reply

