Book Review: The Old Man and the Sea

The Old Man and the Sea – Ernest Hemingway

I picked this up at the library the other day. To be honest I got it because it was thin. The baby has been sleeping poorly lately and I’ve been quite tired. Starting a new book seemed a bit overwhelming, but this thin little volume was quite doable. I ended up reading it in a day.

I had never read Hemingway before, but like to read the classics to find out what all the fuss is about. Anyway…my thoughts.

An enjoyable and easy read. Easy because it was simply written, but in such a short story Hemingway achieves an awful lot. It is a story of man versus nature; of endurance and courage. The characters were outstanding.

The old man so real and knowable. I loved listening to him talk to himself out at sea, and his words were so human. I really could get to know and like this man, even though we know quite little about him. I felt tender for him when he kept wishing the boy was with him. I loved that he dreamed about the lions on the beach. That’s an image of Africa that will stay with me.

The boy. A kind boy who loved the mostly solitary old man like a father. We don’t really know who he is, but the relationship between him and the old man is a special one.

The great fish. By the end of the story, the great fish became a character in his own right, and what a noble opponent he was. I came to have a sense of respect and empathy for this poor fish who fought so gallantly.

Great book.

4 thoughts on “Book Review: The Old Man and the Sea

  1. Yeah this was actually my first Hemmingway book. I really enjoyed it, and wished that Warsaw was more near the coast so that I could fish, talk to myself, and maybe have an epiphany! :)

  2. Maybe if I read this one now with the “wisdom of age” instead of when I was in high school . . . All I could think back then was, “who cares about a book about fishing?”

Leave a Reply

