The stuff life is made of

Every day I wake and it seems that just as we’ve finished breakfast and morning chores, and tackled some school work, it’s already lunch time. The days are busy and fast and sometimes it seems there are not enough hours in the day.

Somewhere around 8pm I stop working, even if there are still things outstanding. I figure that’s a good 12 hour day, enough is enough. More often that not I’m still up to the baby in the night, so it’s still never really over.

Motherhood has been a great experience. Really it has. I don’t regret it for a moment. But (and of course there was a but), I’m busier now that I ever imagined. And we don’t even DO that much really. Raising kids is time consuming. Feeding them, clothing them, washing them, teaching them, disciplining them. My time is fuller than a full time job.

But I know that these are actually short years…and all too soon they’ll be all grown up and off on their own. So, I’m trying to keep it all in perspective. I’m trying to keep the joy in these busy days, even when one or more of them is driving me nuts. I’m trying to weave into these busy days, happy moments which are the stuff childhood memories are made from.

3 thoughts on “The stuff life is made of

  1. Motherhood is no walk in the park, that”s for sure. You are a great mum!! I can vouch for that! So true, those childhood memories are so precious. Our kids will look back with so much fondness on happy days gone by (even when it seemed busy and chaotic).
    Missing you
    love
    t

  2. I think your post says it all. Just the day-to-day stuff of living life takes so much time. Sometimes I look back on a week and think “What did we DO this week?” I feel so busy and yet there is nothing particular that has been accomplished…just the daily routine of caring for kids and a home–ordinary and extraordinary all at once.

Leave a Reply

