Book Review: Gilead by Marilynne Robinson

Gilead by Marilynne Robinson.

Just what can I say? This book was so gentle and tender and beautiful.  It’s quiet and steady. It’s ok to read slowly. It’s written as a (very long) letter from an aging father to his 7 year old son. I loved every moment. It is a book to be savoured.

I bookmarked passages to write down or to read aloud to my long suffering husband and my book-loving friend, and now the top of the book has dozens of yellow flappy post-its sticking out. This book of fatherly wisdom of full of gems. Beautiful.

I grabbed this book at the library just because it’s a Pulitzer Prize winner. I really would love to own this one. It’s a keeper.

I’m feel happy. I always feel happy when I find a really good book.

5 thoughts on “Book Review: Gilead by Marilynne Robinson

  1. I find this one hard to recommend, as it’s such a slow, deliberate read. But it’s lovely. I’m starting up a book group to read books that have mythic and religious themes. This is going to be the first book; the second will be The Road by Cormac McCarthy, which is also chock full of father/son mythology.

Leave a Reply

