Book Review – To Kill A Mockingbird

To Kill A Mockingbird – Harper Lee

Working my way through prize winners and classics. This makes for great reading. I guess they don’t become classics for nothing.
So glad I read this book at last. I didn’t really know what to expect but I really loved this book. The characters are just wonderful, and I feel like they are long lost friends now and I’ll never forget them.

Atticus Finch. An unusual name, but for me memorable for being a great Dad.

Scout. What an intelligent, engaging and inspiring little girl. I love her!

This is a great book, that deals with adult subjects through the eyes of a clever, strong little kid.

Read it!

4 thoughts on “Book Review – To Kill A Mockingbird

    • I have seen The Boy in the Striped Pajamas. Hmmmm.. I have mixed feelings about it…I haven’t read the book so can’t comment on that. But it just didn’t leave me with any hope and didn’t seem to have any redemptive qualities. It just seemed so depressing for a work of fiction. I don’t mind sad or tragic fiction, so long as there is a point or purpose to all the sadness. If I’m going to read or watch such sadness, I’d prefer it to be true. I don’t like being depressed for entertainment. Especially if there is nothing hopeful done with the characters. But again! I haven’t read the book..and movie makers don’t always do novels justice.

  1. I can’t believe you didn’t read this one at school! It was an English Teachers Classic too :) I enjoyed it then, as much as anyone can when you are made to read a book. But the advantage of me liking it I think was that it was a really easy and quick read. In the days of high school that was very important to me :) I might have to re-visit it eventually. As for the boy in striped PJ’s I shan’t be reading it. Living in the country that it all happened in is really enough.

Leave a Reply

