Book Review: Bono on Bono

Bono on Bono: Conversations with Michka Assayas – by Bono and Michka Assayas

I don’t like fame. I don’t like idols and the way people get all excited about a person. They are just a person after all. Flesh and blood like the rest of us. But if I had to choose one famous person I’d like to meet it would be Bono.

I find him inspiring and interesting. The kind of person I’d like to have a long chat with over dinner. He’s someone who people are always trying to define, and yet he seems to enjoy defying people’s categories and labels.

Anyway, this book was recommended to me and I’m so glad I read it. I was completely inspired…to see what a person can do, how influential and creative and unique a person can be when they are free to be themselves. He doesn’t fit in with most people’s idea of what a Christian is, and yet his faith is so evident, and in many ways his life more Christlike than the vast majority of Christians I know (including myself).

I loved reading Bono’s comments about faith. I could resonate with a whole lot about what he said on the subject of religion versus faith. If there is one quote to sum up what I took away from the book, it is this one:

“Religion can be the enemy of God. It`s often what happens when God, like Elvis, has left the building. A list of instructions where there was once conviction; dogma where once people just did it; a congregation led by a man where once they were led by the Holy Spirit. Discipline replacing discipleship.”

Highly recommended.

5 thoughts on “Book Review: Bono on Bono

Leave a Reply

