Thank you Sister

I just need to say that I love my job.

I mean I really love my job.  Nursing fits me like a comfortable pair of jeans. When I’m at work, I feel like I’m doing what I was born to do.

Most of the time when I’m at work, I’m really happy.

I love the pressure on my mind; how I have to think on my feet to solve problems. I love thinking critically and drawing on science to get an understanding of the problem in front of me. The human body never ceases to amaze me. The things that can go wrong with it also fascinates me.

I love the satisfaction of having a heavy workload, and still managing to get it done. Better still to have done it well.

I love the personal nature of the job. I love that I can meet a person for the first time when I come on duty, but by the end of the shift, I’m privileged with intimate details about their life, the family, their fears. It’s amazing how the forced intimacy of dealing with a person’s vulnerabilities really speeds up the getting to know you stage.

I love how quickly patients trust me. There are some amazing people out there…and while sickness and disease brings out the worst in people, it often brings out their best qualities. I have met people whose endurance and courage in the face of chronic illness is beyond belief. Some of these people manage to be pleasant with us day after day sometimes for months on end as they recover from multiple surgeries. Many times there is no end in sight. And yet still they manage to smile.

I love the challenge of making friends with the grumpiest, most difficult or manipulative patient. Most people just want to be understood, respected and cared for. I love that listening, courtesy and level headedness works nearly every time.

I love my colleagues. Nurses are really great people. Nearly all of them have a wicked sense of humour. We laugh a lot. Particularly when things are really hard. I like that. I love that nurses are quick to lend a hand, but not their pen. I love that a good nurse always has cool stuff in his/her pockets…scissors, tape, paracetamol, thermometer, torch and alcohol swabs and folded papers with millions of scrawly notes written on them.

I like my job.

That is all.

“Nurses are a unique kind.  They have this insatiable need to care for others, which is both their biggest strength and fatal flaw.” ~ Unknown

Leave a Reply

